School Leadership

Far more than buildings and resources and campus grounds, Gilman is people. Eager and motivated students, skilled and caring faculty, and dedicated administrators enable the School to fulfill its mission of educating boys in mind, body, and spirit.

ADMINISTRATION

Gilman's administrative team provides the vision, leadership, and day-to-day management required to keep Gilman a vibrant, dynamic, educational community. Like most who work at Gilman, they wear many hats, also serving as teachers, coaches, and counselors.

Henry P. A. Smyth
Headmaster
hsmyth@gilman.edu

Bartley Griffith Jr.
Assistant Head of School for Teaching and Learning
bgriffith@gilman.edu

Robert Heubeck
Head of the Upper School
rheubeck@gilman.edu

Peter O. Kwiterovich '87
Head of the Middle School
pkwiterovich@gilman.edu

Armistead Webster
Head of the Lower School
awebster@gilman.edu

Timothy Holley, Jr. '77
Director of Athletics
tholley@gilman.edu

Amy Furlong
Director of Admissions & Outreach
afurlong@gilman.edu

Marc J. Hoffman
Superintendent of Buildings and Grounds
mhoffman@gilman.edu

Sean T. Furlong
Director of Finance and Operations
sfurlong@gilman.edu

Iva Turner
Director of College Counseling
iturner@gilman.edu

Johnnie L. Foreman, Jr.
Director of Community and Diversity
jforeman@gilman.edu

M. Kate Ratcliffe
Director of Development
kratcliffe@gilman.edu

Diane Fuller
Director of Libraries
dfuller@gilman.edu

Brooke Blumberg
Director of Marketing and Communications
bblumberg@gilman.edu

Wes Hummer
Director of Plant Operations
whummer@gilman.edu

Tahare (Tye) Campbell
Director of Technology
tcampbell@gilman.edu


Gilman Headmaster Henry P.A. Smyth

Headmaster Henry P.A. Smyth

Henry P.A. Smyth is the 14th Headmaster of Gilman School. He began his term effective July 1, 2013.

Smyth, who has worked in independent schools for more than 20 years, joined Gilman School as Assistant Headmaster in July 2010. In that role, he assisted in the overall operations of the School, paying particular attention to faculty hiring and professional development as well as the implementation of Gilman's Long-Range Plan.

A graduate of Phillips Academy Andover, Princeton University (A.B.) and Stanford University (M.A.), Smyth has been a teacher, coach, and administrator at various times in his career, including positions at Charlotte (N.C.) Country Day School, St. Albans School in Washington, D.C., and the Head-Royce School in Oakland, Calif., where he was tenth grade dean and Assistant Director of Admissions. Before coming to Gilman, Smyth spent six years as Head of the Upper School (grades 4-8) at St. Patrick's Episcopal Day School in Washington, D.C. In addition to teaching at all levels – Lower, Middle, and Upper – during his career, he has also coached soccer and basketball.

Smyth, his wife Elizabeth and sons Pitman and Billy live on campus.


Powered by Finalsite