Athletics News

Introduction to College Recruiting for Athletes on Monday, November 4

Current eighth- through twelfth-grade students and their parents are invited to learn more about the college athletic recruiting process from D1 and D3 coaches as well as recent tri-school alumni on Monday, November 4, from 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. in Centennial Hall at The Bryn Mawr School.

Read More about Introduction to College Recruiting for Athletes on Monday, November 4
Hank Bethel is Gilman's 2019 football scholar-athlete

Hank Bethel '19 was one of 69 high school scholar-athletes honored by the Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame in March. Scholar-athletes are selected primarily for their ability on the football field and in the classroom. Other factors taken into consideration include extracurricular activities, leadership, and community activities. In the fall the multi-sport athlete will head to Bucknell University, where he will play lacrosse. 

Read More about Bethel is a Scholar-Athlete
National Swimmer

Max Verheyen ‘19, a varsity swimmer since his freshman year, has qualified for the Scholastic All American Team at USA Swimming.  While competing at the Futures competition, Max achieved both Winter and Summer JR National cuts in the 400 IM, and Winter JR National cuts in the 200 IM, 100 Breast, and 200 Breast events. Requirements included academic performance as well as swimming achievement. Congratulations Max!

Read More about National Swimmer
Gilman Trio for Trilogy Lacrosse

Gilman Athletic Director Russell Wrenn ‘96 is shown with Trilogy Lacrosse CEO Ryan Boyle ‘00 and campers at Boyle’s lacrosse camp at Goucher College. Wrenn spoke to two different sessions of campers about the college recruiting process. Boyle founded Trilogy in 2005 with his Gilman and Princeton teammate, Rob Lindsey ‘00.

Read More about Gilman Trio for Trilogy Lacrosse
Major League Lacrosse Commissioner

Major League Lacrosse (MLL) has selected Alexander P. "Sandy" Brown '81 has been selected as the second commissioner in the 18-year history of the league. Sandy's previous positions include president/CEO of One World Sports, president of Univision Sports, and managing director of both ESPN Asia and ESPN Star Sports.

Read More about Major League Lacrosse Commissioner
World Championship Lacrosse for Holman

Marcus Holman '09 will participate in the US Lacrosse Team USA for this summer's World Championships. He also played in the 2014 World Games. Learn more in this US Lacrosse announcement. Holman's feat comes on the heels of his significant contributions to bringing his MLL team, Ohio Machine, their first championship last August.

Read More about World Championship Lacrosse for Holman
Draft Dreams

Draft dreams do come true - the New England Patriots selected Cyrus Jones '12 in the second round of the 2016 NFL draft. Cyrus was the No. 60 pick overall. Read the report on

Cyrus credits his dad, Cyrus Sr., for his success in a touching Baltimore Sun article.

Cyrus is included in a Pressbox about players who were drafted or are undrafted rookie free agents.

Read More about Draft Dreams
Sportscaster of the Year

Congratulations to WBAL News Radio's Sportsline host Brett Hollander '03, who was named Maryland Sportscaster of the Year this week by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. The North Carolina group honored a writer and broadcaster in each state in addition to national honors and hall of fame inductees. Read more on WBAL NewsRadio 1090.

Read More about Sportscaster of the Year