Marcus Wang Addresses Cum Laude Inductees

In a ceremony on April 10, 12 seniors were inducted into Gilman's Cum Laude Society, joining 12 others who were inducted as juniors. 

Special guest speaker Marcus Wang ’00, co-founder, president, and general manager of ZytoGen, delivered the keynote address. 

During the ceremony, Tenor Barrett Crawford ‘18 performed Donizetti’s Canzona napoletana, accompanied by Music Department Chair Ariel Dechosa on piano, and pianist Zachary Zhao ‘18 performed Liszt’s Concert Etude, S. 145.

Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools. Modeled on Phi Beta Kappa, the Society's motto is Areté (excellence in scholarship and moral virtue), Diké (justice), and Timé (dignity and honor). Gilman School has been a member since 1952 and holds the induction ceremony annually.

You can watch the full ceremony here. Congratulations to these new and previously-elected Cum Laude Society members from the Class of 2018:

Earl Thomas Booker IV

Christian David Coherd

Henry Scranton Conover

Eric Randall Gibson

David Robert Gushue

Cameron Daniel Haire

Bryan Huang

Jules Cornelis Ouwerkerk

Henry Allen Rosenberg

Alexander Ong Seibel

Max Ethan Stern

Zachary Long Zhao


Elected in 2017

Nicholas Jeffrey Auen

James Piper Bond, Jr.

Barrett Thomas Crawford

Bowen Jiang

Mekhi Onaje Johnson

Michael Bradford Johnson

Anh Sy Le

Matthew Ziwen Mu

Aayush Pokharel

Sami Raza

William Denton Rende

Kevin Shuai Zhang