Welcoming 13 New Cum Laude Members

During a ceremony on April 11, 2019, 13 seniors were inducted into the Cum Laude Society. After an incredible alto saxophone performance by Steven Li ‘19 of The Carnival of Venice, accompanied on piano by Music Director Arial Dechosa, Guest Speaker Andrew Brooks '74 PP addressed current and previous inductees. Gilman Chapter President Joe Duncan and Secretary Toby Broadus presented certificates to the new inductees. Noah Seth ‘19 performed Mozart’s Bassoon Concerto in B-Flat Major, accompanied by Arial Dechosa.

Congratulations to the new inductees:

  • Noah Benjamin Abrams
  • Jefferson Finnbarr Arthur
  • Jacob Luis Diaz
  • Gregory Oliver Diette
  • Nathan David Hedgecock
  • Ikenna Chinedum Obioma Ihenatu
  • Noah Zeke Klein
  • Yiyang Li
  • Alexander Byers Martin
  • Francis Conley McGurkin
  • Leo James Morton
  • Parker Campbell Pearce
  • Matthew Louis Smith

They join these students, who were inducted in last fall:

  • Clark Patrick Dowling
  • William Carrington Dowling
  • Charles McClain East
  • Noah Alexander Jun
  • Siyuan Steven Li
  • John Nicholas Maragakis
  • Nischal Rai Pandey
  • Simon Tyler Veit Warfield
  • Tyler Thomas Witherspoon
  • Lucas Dong Hyuk Yim
  • Morgan Matthew Zinn

The Cum Laude Society, modeled on Phi Beta Kappa, promotes academic excellence. The Society's motto is Areté (excellence in scholarship and moral virtue), Diké (justice), and Timé (dignity and honor). Gilman School has been a member since 1952.